Text 19 Apr Media Questions Of The Week

Why didn’t Nas bring AZ to perform with him at Coachella?

Isn’t it great that Kanye West and Common have helped create 20,000 jobs for the youth of Chicago?

Now that Prince is back with Warner Brothers and received full ownership if his back catalogue, which previously unheard material will be released? And wouldn’t it be great if Fishbone could get a similar deal with Columbia Records?

Is Snoop Dogg the first rapper to have a residency in Las Vegas regarding his upcoming Snoopadelic Caberet?

Video 18 Apr

Fishbone took it back to their Truth and Soul days with “Ma and Pa” at Coachella this year. And they announced their new Intrinsically Inclined EP, which is available for pre-orderbefore the official April 22nd release date.

Video 17 Apr

The Tribeca Film Festival opened with the Nas documentary Time Is Illmatic. Robert Deniro, who co-founded the festival, introduced the Erik Parker and One9 film about Nas’s Ilmatic and let the crowd know he was 20 years too early to appreciate hip-hop. Nas later took to the stage and talked about the creation of the album and performed some of the songs. There is no word yet on seeing the film outside of the festival, but if you are in New York you canview it this weekend.

Text 17 Apr Gene Noble-Money Over Bullshit

“Money Over Bullshit” is Gene Noble’s tribute to a business-minded woman from his Rebirth of Gene EP.

Text 17 Apr 1 note J.Dilla-Give ‘Em What They Want

J.Dilla’s The Diary is a vocal album that he recorded with a variety of producers, including Nottz, House Shoes, Karriem Riggins, Madlib, Pete Rock and Supa Dave West among others back in 2002. “Give “Em What They Want” is the third single from The Diary and it’s one of the songs Dilla created with producer Supa Dave West. The song is available now and you can pre-order The Diary to receive it after the May 6 shipping date.

Video 16 Apr

Liv  Warfield took her passionate stage show to The Howard Theatre in Washington, D.C. and gave the crowd her all. Here she is performing “Freedom” with her soulful back-up singers from The Unexpected courtesy of Stevie’s Soul.

Text 16 Apr 1 note The Boondocks Mixtape

The final season of The Boondocks will premiere on Monday, April 21st on the Adult Swim Channel. In recognition of the show’s last return is The Boondocks Mixtape hosted by DJ Drama and featuring rappers like Killer Mike and Jon Connor.


1. Killer Mike – The Boonies (Produced by The Alchemist)
2. Troy Ave – Blanco (Produced by DJ Uneek)
3. Two-9 ft. Reese – Fat Toney (Produced by Chuck Inglish)
4. Earthgang – Pascals (Produced by Unique Weirdooo)
5. Wara – Slangin (Produced by Wara)
6. Chevy Woods ft. Roscoe Dash – Know Shit (Produced by Roscoe Dash)
7. Reese – Rileys Theme (Produced by Slade Da Monsta)
8. Anik Khan – Stunt 101 (Produced by Mr Incredible)
9. Skeme – Paint A Picture (Produced by Sean Momberger)
10. Michael Christmas – Sometimes (Produced by Teddy Roxpin)
11. Jon Connor – The City (Produced by DJ Khalil)
12. Charlie Red – Greengreed (Produced by Charlie Red)
13. Lil Herb – Whatchu Get (Produced by J Herd)
14. Childish Major ft. Smoke DZA & Matik Estada – Same Ole Sh*t (Produced by Childish Major)
15. Sean Falyon – Famous (Produced by Bah)
16. Tuki Carter – Talkin Now (Produced by The Flush)
17. Problem ft. Badd Lucc & Casha – Keep It Real (Produced by Los)
18. M Pulse – Ed Wuncler (Produced by Keef Boyd & Lyle Leduff)

Video 15 Apr 16 notes

Childish Gambino delivers “Sweatpants” with a stream of consciousness flow that he abruptly interrupts with a R&B break. And the whole thing starts in a diner and ends somewhere outdoors at night.

Text 15 Apr Kindred The Family Soul-Everybody’s Hustling


Kindred The Family Soul is back with their new song “Everybody’s Hustling” about the economic struggles that people go through and the importance of strength and faith to carry on despite one’s credit score. The husband and wife duo of Fatin and Aja Dantzler will be releasing their 5th studio album, A Couple Of Friends on June 10th.

Video 14 Apr 1 note

Sza’s “Warm Winds” is a poetic song about a break-up and it is visualized as blurry foliage, quick-moving urban shots and Isaiah Rashad joining her in the midst of it.

Design crafted by Prashanth Kamalakanthan. Powered by Tumblr.